THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: _0010-19__ SPONSOR: <u>Seth Damon</u>

TITLE: An Action To Navajo Nation Council; Confirming The Speaker's
Appointment To The Budget And Finance, Law And Order, Resources And
Development And Health, Education And Human Services Committees Of The 24th
Navajo Nation Council

Date posted: February 1, 2019 at 7:33 PM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to comments@navajo-nsn.gov

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director
Office of Legislative Services
P.O. Box 3390
Window Rock, AZ 86515
(928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

Please note: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.*

LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET Tracking No. <u>DOID-19</u>

DATE: February 1, 2019

AN ACTION RELATING TO THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE SPEAKER'S APPOINTMENTS TO THE BUDGET AND FINANCE, LAW AND ORDER, RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT AND HEALTH, EDUCATION AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEES OF THE 24TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

PURPOSE: The purpose of this legislation is to appoint members of the 24th Navajo Nation Council to their respective Committees.

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committees. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate review the proposed resolution in detail.

5-DAY BILL HOLD	PERIOD: Naabik'íyáti' Committee
-	inence
Eligible for Actio	n: 2/7/2019 Navajo Nation Council
1	PROPOSED NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL RESOLUTION
2	24th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - First Year, 2019
3	
4	
5	
6	Prime Sponsor
7	
8	TRACKING NO. DOID -19
9	
10	AN ACTION
11	RELATING TO THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE
12	SPEAKER'S APPOINTMENTS TO THE BUDGET AND FINANCE, LAW AND
13	ORDER, RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT AND HEALTH, EDUCATION AND
14	HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEES OF THE 24 TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL
15	
16	BE IT ENACTED:
17	
18	Section One. Authority
19	A. The Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council selects the Standing Committee
20	membership subject to confirmation by the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. §
21	181.
22	
23	Section Two. Findings
24	A. On January 28, 2019, the 24 th Navajo Nation Council convened its first regular
25	session and as the first order of business selected and confirmed the Speaker of
26	the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 282 (C).
27	B. A Committee shall have at least one member from each of the Agencies of the
28	Navajo Nation as defined in 2 N.N.C. § 110 (A). 2 N.N.C. § 181.
29	C. The Budget and Finance Committee is established as a Standing Committee of the

Navajo Nation and it shall consist of six members. 2 N.N.C. §§ 300 (A) – (B).

30

1	D. The Health and Human Services Committee is established as a Standing Committee of
2	the Navajo Nation and it shall consist of six members. 2 N.N.C. §§ 400 (A) – (B).
3	E. The Resources and Development Committee is established as a Standing Committee of
4	the Navajo Nation and it shall consist of six members. 2 N.N.C. §§ 500 (A) – (B).
5	F. The Law and Order Committee is established as a Standing Committee of the Navajo
6	Nation and it shall consist of five members. 2 N.N.C. §§ 600 (A) – (B).
7	
8	Section Three. Confirming the Delegates named below to serve as members of
9	the Standing Committees
10	A. The Navajo Nation Council pursuant to its authority under Navajo Nation law
11	hereby confirms:
12	Budget and Finance Committee:
13	1. Amber Kanazbah Crotty from Northern Agency
14	2. Jamie Henio from Eastern Agency
15	3. Elmer P. Begay from Fort Defiance Agency
16	4. Jimmy Yellowhair from Central Agency
17	5. Nathaniel Brown from Western Agency
18	6. Herman Daniels, Jr. from Western Agency
19	
20	Health and Human Services Committee
21	1. Charlaine Tso from Northern Agency
22	2. Daniel Tso from Eastern Agency
23	3. Pernell Halona from Fort Defiance Agency
24	4. Edison J. Wauneka from Fort Defiance Agency
25	5. Nelson BeGaye from Central Agency
26	6. Paul Begay from Western Agency
27	
28	Resources and Development Committee
29	1. Rickie Nez from Northern Agency
30	2. Mark Freeland from Eastern Agency

1	3. Wilson Stewart, Jr. from Fort Defiance Agency
2	4. Kee Allen Begay, Jr. from Central Agency
3	5. Otto Tso from Western Agency
4	6. Thomas Walker, Jr. from Western Agency
5	
6	Law and Order Committee
7	1. Eugenia Charles-Newton from Northern Agency
8	2. Edmund Yazzie from Eastern Agency
9	3. Vince James from Fort Defiance Agency
10	4. Raymond Smith, Jr. from Fort Defiance Agency
11	5. Eugene Tso from Central Agency
12	
13	Section Four. Effective Date
14	This resolution is effective upon its approval pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §221 (C).
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	

30