THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: _0016-19__ SPONSOR: <u>Seth Damon</u>

TITLE: An Action To NAABIK'IYATI' Committee And The Navajo Nation
Council; Confirming The Speaker's Appointments To The Budget And Finance,
Law And Order, Resources And Development And Health, Education And Human
Services Committees Of The 24th Navajo Nation Council

Date posted: February 5, 2019 at 5:05 PM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to comments@navajo-nsn.gov

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director
Office of Legislative Services
P.O. Box 3390
Window Rock, AZ 86515
(928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

Please note: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.*

LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET Tracking No. <u>W/W -19</u>

DATE: February 5, 2019

AN ACTION RELATING TO THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE SPEAKER'S APPOINTMENTS TO THE BUDGET AND FINANCE, LAW AND ORDER, RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT AND HEALTH, EDUCATION AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEES OF THE 24TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

PURPOSE: The purpose of this legislation is to appoint members of the 24th Navajo Nation Council to their respective Committees. .

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committees. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate review the proposed resolution in detail.

Website Po	HOLD PERIOD Naabik'íyáti' C	ommittee Thence
Posting End Eligible for	Date: <u>02/10/19</u> Action: <u>02/11/19</u> Navajo Nation	n Council
1	PROPOSED NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL RESOLUTION	
2	24th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - First Year, 2019	
3		
4		
5		
6	Prime Sponsor	
7		
8	TRACKING NO. <u>001(e-19</u>	
9		
10	AN ACTION	
11	RELATING TO THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND THE NAVAJO NATION	
12	COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE SPEAKER'S APPOINTMENTS TO THE BUDGET	
13	AND FINANCE, LAW AND ORDER, RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT AND	
14	HEALTH, EDUCATION AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEES OF THE 24 TH	
15	NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL	
16		
17	BE IT ENACTED:	
18		
19	Section One. Authority	
20	A. The Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council selects the Standing Committee	
21	membership subject to confirmation by the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. §	
22	181.	
23	B. A proposed resolution requiring final action by the Navajo Nation Council shall be	
24	assigned to the Naabik'íyáti Committee. 2 N.N.C. §501(C)(1).	
25	C. The Navajo Nation Council is the governing body of the Navajo Nation. 2 N.N.C. § 102	
26	(A).	
27	Section Two. Findings	
28	A. On January 28, 2019, the 24 th Navajo Nation Council convened its first regular	
29	session and as the first order of business selected and confirmed the Speaker of	
30	the Navajo Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. § 282 (C).	

1	B. A Committee shall have at least one member from each of the Agencies of the
2	Navajo Nation as defined in 2 N.N.C. § 110 (A). 2 N.N.C. § 181.
3	C. The Budget and Finance Committee is established as a Standing Committee of the
4	Navajo Nation and it shall consist of six members. 2 N.N.C. §§ 300 (A) – (B).
5	D. The Health, Education and Human Services Committee is established as a Standing
6	Committee of the Navajo Nation and it shall consist of six members. 2 N.N.C. §§ 400
7	(A) - (B).
8	E. The Resources and Development Committee is established as a Standing Committee of
9	the Navajo Nation and it shall consist of six members. 2 N.N.C. §§ 500 (A) – (B).
10	F. The Law and Order Committee is established as a Standing Committee of the Navajo
11	Nation and it shall consist of five members. 2 N.N.C. §§ 600 (A) – (B).
12	
13	Section Three. Confirming the Delegates named below to serve as members of
14	the Standing Committees
15	A. The Navajo Nation Council pursuant to its authority under Navajo Nation law
16	hereby confirms:
17	Budget and Finance Committee:
18	1. Amber Kanazbah Crotty from Northern Agency
19	2. Jamie Henio from Eastern Agency
20	3. Elmer P. Begay from Fort Defiance Agency
21	4. Jimmy Yellowhair from Central Agency
22	5. Nathaniel Brown from Western Agency
23	6. Raymond Smith Jr., Fort Defiance Agency
24	Health, Education and Human Services Committee
25	Charlaine Tso from Northern Agency
26	2. Daniel Tso from Eastern Agency
27	3. Pernell Halona from Fort Defiance Agency
28	4. Edison J. Wauneka from Fort Defiance Agency
29	5. Nelson BeGaye from Central Agency
30	6. Otto Tso from Western Agency

1	Resources and Development Committee
2	1. Rickie Nez from Northern Agency
3	2. Mark Freeland from Eastern Agency
4	3. Wilson Stewart, Jr. from Fort Defiance Agency
5	4. Kee Allan Begay, Jr. from Central Agency
6	5. Thomas Walker, Jr. from Western Agency
7	6. Herman Daniels, Jr. from Western Agency
8	Law and Order Committee
9	1. Eugenia Charles-Newton from Northern Agency
10	2. Edmund Yazzie from Eastern Agency
11	3. Vince James from Fort Defiance Agency
12	4. Eugene Tso from Central Agency
13	5. Paul Begay from Western Agency
14	
15	Section Four. Effective Date
15 16	Section Four. Effective Date This resolution is effective upon its approval pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §221 (C).
16	
16 17	
16 17 18	
16 17 18 19	
16 17 18 19 20	
16 17 18 19 20 21	
16 17 18 19 20 21	
16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23	
116 117 118 119 220 221 222 223 224	
116 117 118 119 220 221 222 223 224 225	

29

30