THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: _0074-19__ SPONSOR: <u>Seth Damon</u>

TITLE: An Action Relating To NAABIK'IYATI Committee And The Navajo Nation Council; Confirming The Nominations Of The Speaker Of The Navajo Nation Council And The Navajo Nation President To The Eastern Navajo Land Commission

Date posted: March 21, 2019 at 7:46 PM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to comments@navajo-nsn.gov

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director
Office of Legislative Services
P.O. Box 3390
Window Rock, AZ 86515
(928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

Please note: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.*

LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET Tracking No. 0074-19

DATE: March 19, 2019

SUBJECT: AN ACT RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND THE

NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE NOMINATIONS OF

THE SPEAKER OF THE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL AND THE NAVAJO NATION PRESIDENT TO THE EASTERN NAVAJO LAND

COMMISSION

PURPOSE: To confirm the Speaker's appointment on the Eastern Navajo Land Commission

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committees. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate review the proposed resolution in detail.-

		Naabik'íyáti Qomm			
Website Pos Posting End		126/2019	ence		
		Navajo Nation Cou	ancii		
1		PROPOSED NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL RESOLUTION			
2		24th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL – First Year, 2019			
3		INTRODUCED BY			
4					
5					
6		(Prime Sponsor)			
7					
8		TRACKING NO. 0074-19			
9					
10	V)	AN ACT			
11	RE	ELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND THE NAVAJO NATION			
12	CC	COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE NOMINATIONS OF THE SPEAKER OF THE			
13	NAV.	NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL AND THE NAVAJO NATION PRESIDENT TO THE			
14		EASTERN NAVAJO LAND COMMISSION			
15					
16	BE IT	Γ ENACTED:			
17					
18	Section	on One. Authorities			
19	A.	The Navajo Nation Council is the governing body of the Navajo Nation. 2			
20		N.N.C. §102.			
21	B.	A proposed resolution that requires final action by the Navajo Nation Council			
22		shall be assigned to the Naabik'iyati' Committee before it is heard by the Navajo			
23		Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. §164 (A)(9),			
24	C.	The Eastern Navajo Land Commission "shall be Navajo Nation Council			
25		Delegates representing the so-called Checkerboard Area of the Navajo Nation,			
26		nominated by the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council and confirmed by the			
27		Navajo Nation Council." 2 N.N.C. § 862(B).			
28	D.	The six (6) representatives on the Eastern Navajo Land Commission shall consist			
29		of one Navajo Nation Council member from each of the following areas:			
30					

Page 1 of 4

19-146-1

- 1 1. Area I: Counselor, Huerfano and Nageezi Chapters; 2 2 Area II: Becenti, Crownpoint, Lake Valley, Nahodishgish, Standing Rock and 3 White Rock Chapters; 3. Area III: Ojo Encino, Pueblo Pintado, Torreon/Star Lake and White Horse Lake 4 5 Chapters; 4. Area IV: Baca/Prewitt, Casamero Lake, Iyanbito, Smith Lake, Littlewater, 6 7 Mariano Lake, Pinedale, and Thoreau Chapters: 5. Area V: Bread Springs, Chichiltah, Rock Springs, Churchrock, Manuelito, Red 8 Rock, and Tsayatoh Chapters; 10 6. Area VI: Alamo, Ramah and Tohajiilee Chapters. 11 2 N.N.C. § 862(B). 12 13 Section 2. Findings A. 14 15
 - A. The Navajo Nation Council was reduced in membership from 88 delegates to 24 delegates, which required a change in standing committees, Resolution C0-45-12, but also resulted in a realignment of Chapter representation which currently provides for five (5) Council Delegates representing Chapters in the Eastern Agency, otherwise known as the so-called Checkerboard Area. The previous resolution titled, "Confirming the Nominations of the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council and the Navajo Nation President to the Eastern Navajo Land Commission" first implemented the chapter realignment for the Eastern Navajo Land Commission, and is attached as **Exhibit A**.
 - B. Each of the Navajo Nation Council Delegates shall serve as a member of the Commission concurrent with his or her term as a Council Delegate and until his or her successor is confirmed. 2 N.N.C. § 862(D).
 - C. The Commission shall appoint a Chairperson and Vice- Chairperson from among its members, and may establish committees from among its members if deemed appropriate by the Commission to facilitate the business of the Commission. 2 N.N.C. § 862(E).

30

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28 29

1	D.	The powers and duties of the Eastern Navajo Land Commission are found at 2		
2		N.N.C. § 863 (A-J).		
3				
4	Section	Section Three. Nominations to the Eastern Navajo Land Commission		
5	A.	The Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council nominates the following Navajo		
6		Nation Council Delegates to the Eastern Navajo Land Commission pursuant to 2		
7		N.N.C. § 862(B) and in consideration of the Chapter representation realignment		
8		as a result of the reduction in membership of the Navajo Nation Council:		
9	1.	Area I - now included in Areas II and III.		
10	2.	Area II - Mark Freeland (Becenti, Lake Valley, Nahodisgish, Standing Rock,		
11		White Rock, Huerfano, Nageezi, Crownpoint)		
12	3.	Area III - Daniel Tso (Littlewater, Pueblo Pintado, Torreon, Whitehorse Lake,		
13	N.	Baca/Prewitt, Casamero Lake, Ojo Encino, Counselor)		
14	4.	Area IV - Edmund Yazzie (Churchrock, Iyanbito, Mariano Lake, Pinedale, Smith		
15		Lake, Thoreau)		
16	5.	Area V - Seth Damon (Baahaali, Chichiltah, Manuelito, Red Rock, Rock Springs,		
17		Tsayatoh)		
18	6.	Area VI – Jamie Henio (Alamo, Ramah, Tohajiilee)		
19	В.	The nomination letter by the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council is attached as		
20		Exhibit B.		
21	C.	The Navajo Nation President nominates		
22	Section	on Four. Confirmation of Eastern Navajo Land Commission		
23	A.	The Navajo Nation confirms the nominations of the Speaker of the Navajo Nation		
24		Council to the Eastern Navajo Land Commission, as:		
25		1. Area II - Mark Freeland (Becenti, Lake Valley, Nahodisgish, Standing Rock,		
26		White Rock, Huerfano, Nageezi, Crownpoint)		
27		2. Area III - Daniel Tso (Littlewater, Pueblo Pintado, Torreon, Whitehorse Lake,		
28		Baca/Prewitt, Casamero Lake, Ojo Encino, Counselor)		
29		3. Area IV - Edmund Yazzie (Churchrock, Iyanbito, Mariano Lake, Pinedale,		
30		Smith Lake, Thoreau)		

1		4. Area V - Seth Damon (Baahaali, Chichiltah, Manuelito, Red Rock, Rock
2		Springs, Tsayatoh)
3		5. Area VI – Jamie Henio (Alamo, Ramah, Tohajiilee)
4	В.	The Navajo Nation Council confirms the Navajo Nation President's nomination
5		of to the Eastern Navajo Land Commission.
6	C.	The Navajo Nation Council Delegates confirmed to the Eastern Navajo
7		Commission shall serve as a member of the Commission concurrent with their
8		term as a Council Delegate and until a successor is confirmed. 2 N.N.C. §862
9		(D).
10	D.	The Navajo Nation Presidential nominee shall serve as a member of the
11		Commission until a successor is confirmed.
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		

30