THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: <u>0100-19</u> SPONSOR: <u>Seth Damon</u>

TITLE: An Action Relating To NAABIK'IYATI Committee; Confirming The Appointment Of Five Navajo Nation Council Delegates To The Navajo Nation Census 2020 Complete Count Commission

Date posted: April 30, 2019 at 4:33 PM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to comments@navajo-nsn.gov

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director
Office of Legislative Services
P.O. Box 3390
Window Rock, AZ 86515
(928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

Please note: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.*

LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET

Tracking No. <u>0/00-/9</u>

DATE:

April 25, 2019

TITLE OF RESOLUTION: AN ACTION RELATING TO NAABIK IYATI COMMITTEE; CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF FIVE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL DELEGATES TO THE NAVAJO NATION CENSUS 2020 COMPLETE COUNT COMMISSION

PURPOSE: If approved, this resolution will confirm the appointment of 5 Council Delegates to the Navajo Nation Census 2020 Complete Count Commission.

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committees. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate to review each proposed resolution in detail.

5-DAY BILL I	HOLD PERIOD: Lexur 35 Y Naa'bik'íyáti' Commit	tee
Website Po	ting Time/Date:	
Posting End	Date: 5-5-19	
1	PROPOSED STANDING COMMITTEE RESOLUTION	
1	24th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL – First Year, 2019	
2	24" NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL - First Teal, 2017	
4	INTRODUCED BY	
5		
6		
7	(Prime Sponsor)	
8		
9	TRACKING NO. <u>0100-19</u>	
10		
11	AN ACTION	
12	RELATING TO NAABIK IYATI COMMITTEE; CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT	
13	OF FIVE NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL DELEGATES TO THE	
14	NAVAJO NATION CENSUS 2020 COMPLETE COUNT COMMISSION	
15		
16	BE IT ENACTED:	
17	Section One. Authority	
18	A. The Naabik 'íyátí Committee is established as a standing committee of the Navajo	
19	Nation Council. 2 N.N.C. §700(A).	
20		
21	Section Two. Findings	
22	A. On March 28, 2019, the Navajo Nation through the 24 th Navajo Nation Council	
23	established the Navajo Nation Census 2020 Complete Count Commission. See NABIMA-20-19	
24	attached as Exhibit A.	
25	B. The purpose of the Commission is "to take the lead role in conducting a Census 2020	
26	awareness and outreach campaign throughout the Navajo Nation jurisdiction and where Navajo	
27	People reside in the United States by reviewing activities, coordinating work, providing	
28	guidance, promoting and supporting efforts of the entities and organizations involved with the	
29	Census 2020 Operation." Id.	
30		

C. "The Commission shall consist of ten (10) members consisting of five (5) members of the Navajo Nation Council, with one member from each of the five agencies and five (5) members at-large representing various organizations (public and private sectors). The five members of the Navajo Nation Council will be appointed by the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council and the remaining five members will be appointed by the President of the Navajo Nation. All ten (10) members shall be confirmed by the Naabik'íyáti Committee of the Navajo Nation Council and shall serve at the pleasure of the Navajo Nation Council." *Id*.

D. All Commission members shall serve a term of one year and six months of office, effective April 2019 to September 2020, unless otherwise authorized by the Naabik'iyati Committee of the Navajo Nation Council. *Id*.

E. The Speaker of the 24th Navajo Nation Council, Honorable Seth Damon, has appointed five members of the 24th Navajo Nation Council to the Navajo Nation Census 2020 Complete Count Commission. *See* Appointment Memorandum attached as **Exhibit A**.

Section Three. Naabik'íyáti Committee Confirmation of Appointments

- A. The Naabik'íyáti Committee hereby confirms the appointments of the following Delegates to the Navajo Nation Census 2020 Complete Count Commission:
 - 1. Delegate Edison Wauneka representing the Ft. Defiance Agency;
 - 2. Delegate Thomas Walker, Jr. representing the Western Agency;
 - 3. Delegate Jamie Henio representing the Eastern Agency;
 - 4. Delegate Kee Allen Begay, Jr. representing the Chinle Agency; and
 - 5. Delegate Eugenia Charles-Newton representing the Northern Agency.
- B. Pursuant to NABIMA-20-19, the confirmed Navajo Nation Census 2020 Complete Count Commissioners shall serve a term of one year and six months effective April 2019 to September 2020.