# 24<sup>th</sup> NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL WORK SESSION AGENDA

# November 06, 2019 Department of Dine Education Auditorium 1:00 P.M.

PRESIDING: Honorable Seth Damon, Speaker

- 1. Call Work Session to Order; Roll Call;
- 2. Invocation
- 3. Purpose of the Work Session:

Legislation #0319-19: Sponsored by: Honorable Vince James

Co-Sponsored by: Honorable Carl Slater

An Action: Relating to an Emergency for the Navajo Nation Council; Terminating the General Indemnity Agreements Granted Pursuant to Resolution Nos. CD-60-13 and CAP-13-15 for the Navajo Transitional Energy Company, L.L.C.

Main Motion: Honorable W. Stewart, Jr. Second: Honorable P. Begay, Jr.

Vote: Pending

#### Amendment #1:

Page 4 of 4, Line 13 and 14 amend as follows:

A. ... the Navajo Nation Council hereby terminates the NTEC General Indemnity Agreements issued pursuant to CD-60-13 and CAP-13-15

New Language: Effective immediately, the Navajo Nation Council hereby exercises the termination provisions in paragraph 14 of the NTEC General Indemnity Agreements entered into pursuant to CD-60-13 and CAP-13-15. The Navajo Nation Council's notice of termination shall not terminate, reduce, or discharge the Navajo Nation's obligations regarding bonds for the Navajo Mine or Four Corners Power Plant issued prior to the date of this resolution.

Motion: Honorable D. Tso Second: Honorable M. Freeland

Vote: *Pending* 

## **Summary from the Navajo Nation Council Fall Session**; Day-3, October 23, 2019:

**Tabling Motion:** Legislation 0319-19 Tabled to conduct a work session to discuss overall impact of the legislation (including financial implications) and to include all parties involved. Legislation stays with Navajo Nation Council

Motioned by: Honorable Edmund Yazzie Seconded by: Honorable Nathaniel Brown

Vote: 11 in Favor; 09 Opposed (Speaker Not Voting.)

### 4. Presentations:

A. Navajo Department of Justice Doreen McPaul, Attorney General

B. Office of Legislative Counsel

Dana Bobroff, Chief Legislative Counsel

C. Office of the Controller Pearline Kirk, Controller

D. Office of Management and Budget Dominic Beyal, OMB Director

E. Office of Risk Management Shawnevan Dale, Program Supervisor

Risk Management

F. Navajo Transitional Energy Company Tim McLaughlin, Chair of the Board

Steve Grey, Director of Governmental and

**External Affairs** 

G. Bureau of Indian Affairs Bartholomew Stevens, Director

Navajo Region – Bureau of Indian Affairs

# 5. Other Discussion; Follow-up Meetings; and Recommendations

#### 6. Conclusion of the Work Session