

# PROPOSED AGENDA OF THE 24<sup>th</sup> NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

# SPRING SESSION April 15 – 19, 2019 10:00 AM

## Navajo Nation Council Chambers Window Rock, Navajo Nation (AZ)

## PRESIDING: Honorable Seth Damon, Speaker, Navajo Nation Council

1.	CALL MEETING TO ORDER; ROLL CALL;	INVOCATION
	·····,···,···,···,···,···,···,···,···,	

- 2. RECOGNIZE GUESTS AND VISITING OFFICIALS
- 3. REVIEW AND ADOPT THE AGENDA

	(m)	(S)	(v)
4.	RECEIVE THE STATE OF NAVAJO NATION	THE NATION ADDRESS FROM	THE PRESIDENT OF THE
	(m)	(\$)	(v)
5.	RECEIVE REPORT FROM	THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE NA	AVAJO NATION
	(m)	(s)	(v)
6.	RECEIVE REPORT FROM	THE SPEAKER OF THE NAVAJO	O NATION COUNCIL
	(m)	(s)	(v)
7.	RECEIVE FINANCIAL RE	PORT FROM THE CONTROLLER	R
	(m)	(s)	(v)

8.	ORAL REPORTS:			
	A. Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)	(m)	<b>(s)</b>	(v)
	B. Indian Health Services (IHS)	(m)	<b>(s)</b>	(v)
	C. Attorney General	(m)	<b>(s)</b>	(v)
	D. Navajo Nation Youth Advisory Council	(m)	<b>(s)</b>	(v)
9.	9. WRITTEN REPORTS			
	A. Standing Committees	(m)	(s)	(v)
	B. Boards and Commissions	(m)	(s)	(v)
	C. Bureau of Indian Affairs	(m)	(s)	(v)
	D. Indian Health Services Area Director	(m)	(s)	(v)
	E. Navajo Tribal Utility Authority	(m)	(s)	(v)

#### 10. OLD BUSINESS

<sup>(</sup>A) <u>LEGISLATION 0003-19:</u> An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Rescinding CO-60-17 *SPONSOR: Honorable Amber Kanazbah Crotty* 

(m) (s)	(v)
---------	-----

01/29/2019

Motion to Table Legislation 0003-19 and refer back to the Naabik'íyáti' Committee until a Naabik'íyáti' Committee work session is held for further discussion within the next 30 days; (M) Honorable Otto Tso, (S) Honorable Daniel Tso, (V) 12 in Favor, 11 Opposed (Speaker Damon Not Voting).

02/26/2019 Naabik'íyáti' Committee work session held to discuss Legislation 0003-19.

#### 11. NEW BUSINESS

- (A) <u>LEGISLATION 0009-19:</u> An Action Relating to Naabik'iyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Rudy Shebala as Navajo Nation Division of Natural Resources Executive Director *SPONSOR: Honorable Herman M. Daniels CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Otto Tso*
  - (m) (s)
- (B) <u>LEGISLATION 0011-19</u>: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Garret Silversmith as Division Director for the Navajo Division of Transportation SPONSOR: Honorable Mark Freeland
  - (m) (s) (v)
- (C) <u>LEGISLATION 0012-19</u>: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Dr. Pearl Yellowman as the Division of Community Development Director for the Navajo Nation

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Mark Freeland

- (m)
  - (s) (v)
- (D) <u>LEGISLATION 0013-19</u>: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Consenting to Jesse Delmar as Navajo Nation Division of Public Safety Executive Director SPONSOR: Honorable Herman M. Daniels

(v)

## CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Otto Tso CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Edmund Yazzie

- (m) (s) (v)
- (E) <u>LEGISLATION 0017-19</u>: An Action Relating to Law and Order: Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Doreen N. McPaul as the Navajo Nation Attorney General SPONSOR: Honorable Edmund Yazzie CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Herman M. Daniels CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Mark Freeland
  - (m) (s) (v)
- (F) <u>LEGISLATION 0018-19:</u> An Action Relating to Naabik'iyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Lomardo Aseret as Executive Director of the Division of General Services. *SPONSOR: Honorable Edmund Yazzie CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Daniel Tso* 
  - (m) (s) (v)
- (G) <u>LEGISLATION 0022-19</u>: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of JT J. Willie as Navajo Nation Division of Economic Development Executive Director SPONSOR: Honorable Edmund Yazzie
  - (m) (s) (v)

(H) <u>LEGISLATION 0025-19</u>: An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services Committee, Naabik'íyáti' Committees and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Dr. Jill Jim as the Health Director of the Navajo Nation Department of Health

## SPONSOR: Honorable Charlaine Tso CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Pernell Halona

- (m) (s) (v)
- (I) <u>LEGISLATION 0026-19</u>: An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services Committee, Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Dr. Perphelia Fowler as the Executive Director of the Division of Human Resources SPONSOR: Honorable Nelson S. BeGaye
  - (m) (s) (v)

(s)

(J) <u>LEGISLATION 0027-19</u>: An Action Relating to Naabik'iyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Christopher Becenti as the Executive Director of the Navajo Nation Telecommunication Regulatory Commission

> SPONSOR: Honorable Nelson S. BeGaye CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Kee Allen Begay, Jr.

(m)

(v)

- (K) <u>LEGISLATION 0040-19:</u> An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Santee Lewis as the Navajo Nation Washington Office Director SPONSOR: Honorable Amber Kanazbah Crotty CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Kee Allen Begay, Jr.
  - (m) (s) (v)
- (L) <u>LEGISLATION 0074-19</u>: An Act Relating to Naabik'íyáti Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Nominations of the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council and the Navajo Nation President to the Eastern Navajo Land Commission

## SPONSOR: Honorable Seth Damon CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Rickie Nez

(m) (s) (v)

(M)<u>LEGISLATION 0082-19</u>: An Action Relating to the Resources and Development Committee, Naabik'íyáti Committee, and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the appointment of Oliver B. Whaley as the Director of the Navajo Nation Environmental Protection Agency

#### SPONSOR: Honorable Thomas Walker, Jr. CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Mark Freeland

(m) (s) (v)

#### 12. CLOSE OF SESSION; ANNOUNCEMENTS; ADJOURNMENT

THIS AGENDA IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE: The public is advised that the Navajo Nation Council Agenda and the Agendas of the Standing Committees are not final until adopted by a majority vote of the Navajo Nation Council or the Standing Committee at a Navajo Nation Council or a Standing Committee meeting pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §§163 and 183, Navajo Nation Council Rule of Order No. 7, and Standing Committee Rule of Order No. 8.