Motion: Hon. Edmund Yazzie Second: Hon. Lee Jack, Sr.

VOTE: 21-0

AGENDA OF THE 23rd NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

SPECIAL SESSION June 26, 2017



Department of Diné Education Auditorium Window Rock, Navajo Nation (AZ)

PRESIDING: Honorable LoRenzo C. Bates, Speaker, Navajo Nation Council

- 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER; ROLL CALL; INVOCATION
- 2. RECOGNIZE GUESTS AND VISITING OFFICIALS TO THE NAVAJO NATION
- 3. REVIEW AND ADOPT THE AGENDA
- 4. OLD BUSINESS:
 - (A) <u>LEGISLATION 0194-17:</u> An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services, Resources and Development, Budget and Finance, Naabik'íyáti Committees and the Navajo Nation Council; Approving the Replacement Lease Between the Navajo Nation and Salt River Project Agricultural Improvement and Power District, Arizona Public Service Company, Tucson Electric Power Company, Nevada Power Company D/B/A NV Energy, and Department of Water and Power of City of Los Angeles; Lease Amendment No. 1 to Existing Lease; Approval of Restrictive Covenants Related to Ash Disposal Area and Solid Waste Landfill and Pond Solids; Waiver of Sovereign Immunity (2/3 Vote)

SPONSOR: Honorable LoRenzo C. Bates CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Nathaniel Brown CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Herman M. Daniels

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Davis Filfred

(m) Honorable Davis Filfred

(s) Honorable Otto Tso

(v)

6/19/2017 – Motion to Table to Council Special Session on June 26, 2017; (m) Honorable Seth Damon, (s) Honorable Edmund Yazzie, (v) 17 in Favor, 06 Opposed (Speaker Pro Tem Shepherd Not Voting)

(B) <u>LEGISLATION 0431-16</u>: An Action Relating to Budget and Finance, and Naabik'íyáti' Committees and the Navajo Nation Council; Approving Supplemental Funding from the Unreserved, Undesignated Fund Balance in the Amount of \$248,587 to the Navajo Nation Election Administration Office to Hold the Transportation Stimulus Plan Referendum

SPONSOR: Honorable Walter Phelps

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Benjamin Bennett

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Tom T. Chee.

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Dwight Witherspoon

(m) Honorable Benjamin Bennett (s) Honorable Dwight Witherspoon

04/18/2017 – Motion to Refer to the next Naabik'íyáti' Committee Meeting; (m) Honorable Dwight Witherspoon, (s) Honorable Benjamin Bennett, (v) 14 in Favor, 06 Opposed (Speaker Bates Not Voting)

(C) <u>LEGISLATION 0160-17:</u> An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee, Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Joelynn M. Ashley as Executive Director of the

Division of General Services

SPONSOR: Honorable Amber Kanazbah Crotty

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Jonathan L. Hale

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Otto Tso

(m) Honorable Jonathan L. Hale

Sovereign Immunity

(s) Honorable Nathaniel Brown

(v)

6/19/2017 – Motion to Table until next session; (m) Honorable Alton Joe Shepherd, (s) Honorable Leonard Tsosie, (v) 11 in Favor, 10 Opposed (Speaker Bates Broke Tie)

5. NEW BUSINESS:

(A) <u>LEGISLATION 0120-17:</u> An Action Relating to Budget and Finance, Resources and Development, Naabik'íyáti' Committees and the Navajo Nation Council; Petitioning the Secretary of the Interior to Issue a Federal Charter of Incorporation to the Navajo Nation for the Naat'áanii Development Corporation as a For-Profit Company under the Indian Reorganization Act, 25 U.S.C. § 5124, As Amended

SPONSOR: Honorable Alton Joe Shepherd
CO-SPONSOR: Honorable LoRenzo C. Bates
CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Kee Allen Begay, Jr.
CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Seth Damon
CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Jonathan L. Hale
CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Leonard H. Pete
CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Walter Phelps

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Tuchoney Slim, Jr. CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Dwight Witherspoon

(B) <u>LEGISLATION 0137-17:</u> An Action Relating to Resources and Development, Budget and Finance, Naabik'íyáti' Committees and the Navajo Nation Council; Approving the Establishment of the Naatáanii Development Corporation; Granting and Extending the Navajo Nation's Sovereign Immunity to the Corporation; No Waiver of the Navajo Nation's

SPONSOR: Honorable Alton Joe Shepherd CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Kee Allen Begay, Jr.

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Seth Damon
CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Jonathan L. Hale
CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Leonard H. Pete

CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Tuchoney Slim, Jr. CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Dwight Witherspoon

	(m)	(s)	(v)
(C)	<u>LEGISLATION 0204-17:</u> An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services and Naabik'íyáti' Committees; and Navajo Nation Council; Recommending and Confirming Dr Glorinda Segay as the Health Director for the Navajo Division of Health SPONSOR: Honorable Jonathan L. Hale		
	(m)	(s)	(v)
(D)	D) <u>LEGISLATION 0161-17:</u> An Action Relating to Naabik'iyati' Committee and Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Mr. Perry Charley to the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission SPONSOR: Honorable Amber Kanazbah Crotty		
	(m)	(s)	(v)

6. CLOSE OF SESSION; ANNOUNCEMENTS; ADJOURNMENT