NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE OF THE 24th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

REGULAR MEETING

Navajo Nation Council Chambers Window Rock, Navajo Nation

Thursday, February 28, 2019 - 10:00 AM

APPROVED AGENDA

PRESIDING CHAIR: Honorable Seth Damon, Speaker, Navajo Nation Council

Hon. Seth Damon, Speaker			
BUDGET & FINANCE	RESOURCES & DEVELOPMENT	HEALTH, EDUCATION &	LAW & ORDER COMMITTEE
COMMITTEE	COMMITTEE	HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE	
Hon. Elmer P. Begay	Hon. Kee Allen Begay Jr.	Hon. Paul Begay	Hon. Eugenia Charles-Newton (C)
Hon. Nathaniel Brown	Hon. Herman M. Daniels	Hon. Nelson S. BeGaye	Hon. Vince James
Hon. Amber Kanazbah Crotty	Hon. Mark Freeland	Hon. Pernell Halona	Hon. Eugene Tso
Hon. Jamie Henio (C)	Hon. Rickie Nez (C)	Hon. Charlaine Tso (VC)	Hon. Otto Tso (VC)
Hon. Raymond Smith, Jr. (VC)	Hon. Wilson Stewart, Jr.	Hon. Daniel Tso (C)	Hon. Edmund Yazzie
Hon. Jimmy Yellowhair	Hon. Thomas Walker, Jr. (VC)	Hon. Edison J. Wauneka	

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER; ROLL CALL; INVOCATION; ANNOUNCEMENTS

2. RECOGNIZE GUESTS AND VISITING OFFICIALS

3. REVIEW AND ADOPT THE AGENDA:

(m) Honorable Raymond Smith, Jr. (s) Honorable Jamie Henio (v) 16 - 2

4. REVIEW AND ADOPT THE JOURNALS: None

5. RECEIVE REPORTS:

A. Report on Navajo Generating Station and Navajo Transitional Energy Corporation, Honorable Speaker Seth Damon

(m) (s) (v)

- B. Follow up Report by Lucinda Martin, Health Administrator, Navajo Department of Aging and Long Term Care Support
 - (m) (s) (v)

6. OLD BUSINESS: None

7. NEW BUSINESS:

A. LEGISLATION 0036-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee; Approving the Speaker's Appointments of Members to the Navajo-Hopi Land Commission

SPONSOR: Honorable Thomas Walker, Jr. CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Otto Tso

- (m) (s) (v)
- B. LEGISLATION 0019-19: An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services Committee and Naabik'íyáti' Committee; for the Purpose of Discussion, Reaffirmation and Possible Amendment of NABIN-69-18 Titled "An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services and Naabik'íyáti' Committees; Respectfully requesting the United States Veterans Affairs Administration to Establish Direct Services on the Navajo Nation for Navajo Nation Veterans.

SPONSOR: Honorable Kee Allen Begay, Jr. CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Charlaine Tso

- (m) (s) (v)
- C. LEGISLATION 0024-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee; Requesting the Governor of the State of New Mexico to Rescind Executive Order 2013-006 SPONSOR: Honorable Mark Freeland
 - (m)
- (s) (v)
- D. LEGISLATION 0032-19: An Action Relating to Law and Order Committee; Naabik'íyáti' Committee; Supporting New Mexico House Bill 278 Titled "An Act Relating to Missing Persons; Creating the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force; Making an Appropriation; Declaring an Emergency" SPONSOR: Honorable Amber Kanazbah Crotty
 - (m) (s) (v)
- E. LEGISLATION 0033-19: An Action Relating to Law and Order Committee, Naabik'íyáti' Committee; Supporting Arizona House Bill 2570 Titled "An Act Establishing A Study Committee on Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls"

SPONSOR: Honorable Amber Kanazbah Crotty

(m)

- (s) (v)
- F. LEGISLATION 0034-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee, Supporting Utah Concurrent Resolution Titled "Designating May 5 as Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, and LGBT+ Awareness Day" SPONSOR: Honorable Amber Kanazbah Crotty

APPROVED NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE REGULAR MEETING AGENDA (2/28/2019)

(m)

(S) (V)

G. LEGISLATION 0035-19: An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services Committee and Naabik'íyáti' Committee; Supporting United States Senate Bill 229 Titled "Indian Programs Advance Appropriations Act"

SPONSOR: Honorable Amber Kanazbah Crotty

(m)

(v)

H. LEGISLATION 0009-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Rudy Shebala as Navajo Nation Division of Natural Resources Executive Director

SPONSOR: Honorable Herman M. Daniels CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Otto Tso

(m) (s) (v)

(s)

- I. LEGISLATION 0011-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and The Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Garret Silversmith as Division Director for the Navajo Division of Transportation SPONSOR: Honorable Mark Freeland
 - (m) (s) (v)
- J. LEGISLATION 0012-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Dr. Pearl Yellowman as the Division of Community Development Director for the Navajo Nation

SPONSOR: Honorable Mark Freeland

- (m) (s) (v)
- K. LEGISLATION 0013-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Consenting to Jesse Delmar as Navajo Nation Division of Public Safety Executive Director SPONSOR: Honorable Herman M. Daniels CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Edmund Yazzie CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Otto Tso
 - (m) (s)
- L. LEGISLATION 0018-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Lomardo Aseret as Executive Director of the Division of General Services. SPONSOR: Honorable Edmund Yazzie CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Daniel Tso

(v)

(m)

M. LEGISLATION 0022-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'iyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of JT J. Willie as Navajo Nation Division of Economic Development Executive Director

SPONSOR: Honorable Edmund Yazzie

- (m) (s) (v)
- N. LEGISLATION 0025-19: An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services Committee, Naabik'íyáti' Committees and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Dr. Jill Jim as the Health Director of the Navajo Nation Department of Health

SPONSOR: Honorable Charlaine Tso CO-SPONSOR: Honorable Pernell Halona

(v)

- (m) (s)
- O. LEGISLATION 0026-19: An Action Relating to Health, Education and Human Services Committee, Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Dr. Perphelia Fowler as the Executive Director of the Division of Human Resources SPONSOR: Honorable Nelson S. BeGaye
 - SPOINSOR: Honorable Ivelson 5. Decl
 - (m) (s) (v)
- P. LEGISLATION 0027-19: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and the Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Christopher Becenti as the Executive Director of the Navajo Nation Telecommunication Regulatory Commission

SPONSOR: Honorable Nelson S. BeGaye

(m) (s) (v)

8. CLOSE OF MEETING; ANNOUNCEMENTS; ADJOURNMENT