

# 23rd Navajo Nation Council Office of the Speaker

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 3, 2017 MEDIA CONTACTS Jared Touchin (928) 221-9253 Jolene Holgate (928) 380-4174 Crystalyne Curley (928) 286-7918 nnlb.communications@gmail.com

# Navajo Board of Election Supervisors refers names of individuals failing to file campaign expense reports to the Chief Prosecutor

**WINDOW ROCK** – Last Thursday, the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors voted unanimously to pass a resolution to refer the names of individuals to the Navajo Nation Chief Prosecutor, who failed to file campaign expense reports. Election candidates are required to report their campaign expenses to the Navajo Election Administration, in accordance with the Navajo Nation Election Code.

An exhibit attached to the resolution lists the names of 54 individuals ranging from chapter officials, school board members, and grazing committee members who were part of the 2016 chapter primary and general elections.

The Election Code states, "A candidate, whether elected to an office or not, who refuses or fails to file the statement required by 11 N.N.C. §202 is guilty of an offense and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not less than \$300 nor more than \$500."

Please see the attached resolution from the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors for more information.

# # #

For news on the latest legislative branch activities, please visit <u>www.navajonationcouncil.org</u> or find us on Facebook and Twitter, keywords: Navajo Nation Council

# RESOLUTION OF THE NAVAJO BOARD OF ELECTION SUPERVISORS

# <u>Referring to the Navajo Nation Chief Prosecutor the Names of Individuals Failing to File</u> <u>Campaign Expense Reports</u>

#### WHEREAS:

1. The Navajo Board of Election Supervisors is delegated by 11 N.N.C. § 321 to supervise all tribal elections.

2. Navajo Nation Election Code provides 203 (B) "A candidate, whether elected to an office or not, who refuses or fails to file the statement required by 11 N.N.C. 202 is guilty of an offense and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not less than \$300 nor more than \$500."

#### NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

1. The Navajo Board of Election Supervisors hereby refers to the Navajo Nation Chief Prosecutor the names of individuals failing to file Campaign Expense Reports as required by Navajo Nation Election Code, a listing marked as Exhibit "A."

2. The Navajo Election Administration shall provide the Navajo Nation Chief Prosecutor any additional information necessary for enforcement of Campaign Expense Reporting under Navajo Nation Law.

#### CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly considered by the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors at a duly called meeting within the Navajo Nation in Window Rock, Arizona during which a quorum was present and that the same was passed by a vote of 8 in favor, 0 opposed, and 0 abstained, this 27<sup>TH</sup> day of April, 2017.

Melvin Harrison, Chairperson Navajo Board of Election Supervisors

Motion: Ruth Gilmore Second: Mae-Gilene Begay

# EXHIBIT "A"

# NAVAJO ELECTION ADMINISTRATION

# 2016 Navajo Nation Chapter Election CAMPAIGN EXPENSE REPORT NON-FILERS

# **EASTERN AGENCY**

<u>CHAPTER</u>	NAME	POSITION	LACKING
054-Lake Valley	Ned Benally	Vice-President	GE
056-Nahodishgish	Tina S. Lynch	Secretary/Treasurer	GE
060-Whitehorse Lake	e Darren C. Hudson Clyde Yazzie	President President	PE PE
061-Whiterock	Michelle Brown	Secretary/Treasurer	GE
066-Churchrock	Laverne Benally	Secretary/Treasurer	GE
067-Iyanbito	Mildred King-Hubbell	Vice-President	PE
069-Mariano Lake	Anthony Begay	Vice-President	GE
070-Pinedale	Willie Norton	Vice-President	GE
075-Thoreau	Pearl J. James	Vice-President	GE
091-Huerfano	Vern George	President	GE
094-Ramah	Martha Garcia Clara B. Chicharello	Ramah Navajo School Board, Inc. Ramah Navajo School Board, Inc	PE GE
097-Crownpoint	Louise Long	Dibe Yazhi Habitiin, Olta (Borrego Pass School)	GE
102-Counselor	Marlene Thomas	Vice-President	GE

PE-Primary Election GE-General Election

# NAVAJO ELECTION ADMINISTRATION

# 2016 Navajo Nation Chapter Election CAMPAIGN EXPENSE REPORT NON-FILERS

#### FORT DEFIANCE AGENCY

<u>CHAPTER</u>	NAME	POSITION	<u>LACKING</u>
019-Dilcon	George Joe	Dilcon Community School Board	PE
021-Jeddito	Martin J. Bahe	President	PE, GE
	Eddie A. Kaibetoney	Vice President	PE, GE
023-Whitecone	Justin Yazzie	Vice President	GE
048-Coyote	Theresa M. Nez	President	PE
Canyon	Olivia Anderson	Vice President	GE
	Casey Begay	Grazing Committee Member	PE, GE
	Olivia Anderson	Tse'ii ahi Community School Board	GE
049-Mexican	Alfred Barney	President	PE
Springs	Ernest Bitsie	Grazing Committee Member	PE, GE
	Timothy Bitsilly	Ch'ooshgai Community School BoardPE	
050-Naschitti	Randy P. Roberts	Commission President	GE
051-Tohatchi	Olin T. Kieyoomia	Ch'ooshgai Community School BoardPE, GE	
052-Bahastl'a'a	Benjamin Becenti	President	PE
	Norman John II	President	PE, GE
	Cynthia Tommy-Ben	Secretary/Treasurer	PE
	Norman John, II	Ch'ooshgai Community School BoardPE	
077-Ganado	Henry A. Yazzie, Jr.	Vice President	PE, GE
	Dickerson Smith	Grazing Committee Member	PE
080-Klagetoh	Don Clark	Vice President	PE
081-Steamboat	Anderson Yazzie	Grazing Committee Member	PE, GE

PE-Primary Election GE-General Election

086-Oaksprings	Renee Sands	President	GE
087-Red Lake	Regina Bitloy	Grazing Committee Member	PE, GE
088-St. Michaels	Willie Keeto, Jr. Raymond Castillo	President Vice President	PE, GE PE, GE
090-Tsé si' Áni	Christine M. Ashley	Secretary/Treasurer	PE

,

#### NAVAJO ELECTION ADMINISTRATION

# 2016 Navajo Nation Chapter Election CAMPAIGN EXPENSE REPORT NON-FILERS

# WESTERN AGENCY

<b>CHAPTER</b>	NAME	POSITION	LACKING
001-Coppermine	Stanley Fowler	Grazing Committee Member	GE
004-Tonalea	Elizabeth Fowler	Vice-President	GE
006-Naa'Tsis'Aan	Shirlene Little	Grazing Committee Member	PE
007-Shonto Government	Freida Laughter Arlene Laughter	Secretary/Treasurer Greyhills Academy High School	PE, GE PE
008-Bodaway/Gap	Jonathan Haskie Marlene Tacheene	Vice-President Grazing Committee Member	PE GE
011-To'Nanees Dizi Local Government	Juanita E. Burns-Begay	Greyhills Academy High School	GE
017-Leupp	Kevin Todacheenie	President	GE
018-Tolani Lake	Donald Price	Leupp Schools, Inc.	GE
025-Dennehotso	Leonard James	Grazing Committee Member	GE

١