

## The 24TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL Office of the Speaker

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## 2019 District 11 Special Election Results

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. – Sept. 25, 2019 – The Navajo Election Administration delivered the unofficial results from the special election held September 24, 2019 for the Navajo Nation Council Delegate for District 11. The results are eligible for certification 10 days after the election by the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors at a regular meeting.

District 11 is comprised of the Tsaile/Wheatfields, Rock Point, Lukachukai, Round Rock, and Tsé Chizhí Chapters.

The NEA reported the following unofficial results from the special election: Jaye R. Tom, 137 votes; Kuhyonre E. Nata'ani, 101 votes; Willis T. Becenti, 287 votes; Herman Largo, 365 votes; Carl Roessel Slater, 936 votes.

The NEA also reported a total of 1826 votes were cast in District 11 of a total of 4686 registered voters.

"On behalf of the 24th Navajo Nation Council, I extend my appreciation to the Navajo Election Administration, the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors, the chief poll judges and poll officials, and the Chapters of District 11 for carrying out this special duty to our Navajo Nation. To the voters, candidates, and their families, I wish to thank everyone for their participation in carrying our democratic process forward," said 24th Navajo Nation Council Speaker Seth Damon.

The elected candidate, upon certification by the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors, will be sworn in at the Navajo Nation Council Chamber on a date to be determined by the Office of the Speaker.

The Navajo Board of Election Supervisors is tentatively planning to hold a regular meeting on October 10, 2019. More information can be found at www.navajoelections.navajo-nsn.gov.

###