

The 24TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL

Office of the Speaker

MEDIA CONTACTS Alray Nelson, Communications Director Kyron Hardy, Public Information Officer E-mail: nnlb.communications@gmail.com Phone: (928) 530-8329

Navajo Nation applauds Appointment of Arizona State Senator Theresa Hatathlie

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 7, 2022

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. — The 24th Navajo Nation Council applauds the appointment of Theresa Hatathlie as Arizona State Senator for Legislative District 7 (LD7) by the Coconino County Board of Supervisors, by a vote of 5 in favor, 0 opposed. By state election procedures, she will be formally sworn into public office on Monday, Jan. 10.

Former Senator Jamescita Peshlakai (D-LD7) resigned from her position in late December to take a position with the United States Department of Interior. Three candidates were recommended by Coconino County that included community leader Theresa Hatathlie-Delmar, chapter leader Gwen Ward, and Navajo Nation Community Development Executive Director Dr. Pearl Yellowman.

"Our incoming Senator Theresa Hatathlie is a respected public servant who has stood behind our college students and held school districts responsible for the education of our young people. She is the Vice President of the Diné College Board



PHOTO: Newly appointed Arizona State Senator Theresa Hatathlie speaking at Diné College's 50th Anniversary Celebration in 2018.

of Regents and has served in this leadership position over nine years. We applaud the Coconino County Board of Supervisors for their leadership in making sure a Diné leader was appointed to this position. Theresa Hatathlie is a proven community advocate who continues to serve as a local coordinator helping hundreds of Navajo families that need direct COVID-19 relief. Through their work, non-profit organizations support our hospitals, first responders, police departments, and tribal health care facilities," said Speaker Seth Damon (Bááhaalí, Chichiltah, Manuelito, Red Rock, Rock Springs, Tséyatoh).

Theresa Hatathlie is from Coal Mine Mesa, Ariz., and is the Logistics Coordinator for the Navajo and Hopi Families COVID-19 Relief Fund - which has raised millions over the last two years for Indigenous families. She previously served as the Human Resources Director for the Tuba City Unified School District and holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Northern Arizona University.

"This selection of Theresa Hatathlie as our new Arizona Senator is good news for our people. Senator Jamescita Peshlakai has been an outstanding advocate for our infrastructure projects during this pandemic and she got hard work done. She is qualified, capable, and prepared to bring decades of her experience to the Arizona State Capitol. It is our belief she will work hard and push forward the priorities that Senator Peshlakai carried during this pandemic," said Council Delegate Thomas Walker (Birdsprings, Leupp, Tolani Lake, Coalmine Canyon, Cameron).

The remainder of the term for former Senator Jamescita Peshlakai will be served by incoming Senator Theresa Hatathlie until January 2022. Arizona Legislative District 7 spans across Apache, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Mohave, Navajo, and Pinal Counties.

"Thank you for your gift of time, kindness, and energetic assistance for my nomination and selection as a new Arizona State Senator. This phenomenal success would not be possible without the overwhelming support of my community and family. I am humbled and give thanks to the Holy People, my forefathers, and my family, for I am the product of their prayers, teachings, and strength. I hereby devote the best of my abilities to work to resolve the challenges facing our people. Thank you Senator Jamescita Peshlakai for your exemplary leadership, breaking that glass ceiling, and for creating a space for Diné women leaders in the Arizona Legislature," added incoming Senator Theresa Hatathlie.

The Arizona Legislative Session begins in Phoenix, Ariz. on Monday. The White Mountain Apache, San Carlos Apache, Hualapai, Havasupai, Kaibab Paiute, San Juan Southern Paiute, Zuni Pueblo, Hopi, and the Navajo Navajo are within the district legislative boundaries.

###